The TAG Drug Task Force is a multi-agency law enforcement task force.  We are a major crimes unit that investigates drug traffickers, gangs, firearm traffickers, and Homeland Security issues. The process to form TAG began shortly after September 11, 2001.  TAG consists of Trumbull County Sheriff’s Deputies and other local law enforcement officers. TAG enlists the assistance of federal and state law enforcement agencies in the pursuit of our mission.  TAG strives to improve quality of life issues by reducing crime in our communities.

TAG utilizes an Advisory Board to manage our goals and objectives. The Advisory Board consists of representatives from the Trumbull County Sheriff’s and Prosecutor's Offices, as well as the Ohio Department of Public Safety. The Advisory Board meets on a quarterly basis and operates off of an agenda prepared by our Project Director.

In addition to receiving operational funds from fines and fees through the local judicial system from prosecuted drug traffickers, TAG receives state and federal funding from the US Bureau of Justice Assistance, Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program (JAG) and the Ohio Office of Criminal Justice Services Drug Law Enforcement (DLE) grant funds. These grant programs provide funding to drug task forces based off of the accomplishments and the successful implementation of the objectives of the task force.  Task forces must reapply every year for funding. 

Trumbull County, the county seat, located in Warren, Ohio, consists of a combination of both urban and rural communities situated in the northeast corner of Ohio. It is situated roughly between the Youngstown, Cleveland and Akron corridors. It was established on July 10, 1800, serving as the seventh county in the northwest territory. It is named after Jonathan Trumbull, Governor of Connecticut, who once owned the land in this region. The County's population is approximately 225,000.

The county has a total area of 625 square miles. It is the only square county in the entire State of Ohio with each side being approximately 25 miles. Trumbull County consists of seven cities: Cortland, Girard, Hubbard, Newton Falls, Niles, Warren, Youngstown and five villages: Lordstown, McDonald, Orangeville, West Farmington, and Yankee Lake.

In the downtown area you will find unique shopping boutiques, jewelers and a variety of restaurants. Entertainment can also be found during the summer months at the Warren Ampitheater and all year round at the Packard Music Hall.